Skip to main content

News

Topic: Hello everyone! (Read 3928 times) previous topic - next topic

Hello everyone!
Hi everyone, I'm new with this. I've been looking for a good engine to create an rpg game and I want to create it all by my self because I want to learn in the process and who knows maybe adopt it as a hobbie, anyways, I would like to know if any of the people here in this forum could make an entire tutorial about creating a game from 0 to the end with this great program or tell me where exactly should I look to learn all the necessary to create a good rpg with this engine.
Thanks for your time!

• Radnen
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Senior Staff
  • Wise Warrior
Re: Hello everyone!
Reply #1
Hi! Welcome to the community! :)

Making a good RPG with this engine is not easy. I'll say that straight away, for that go to RPG maker. However, making any kind of rpg you want, you came to the right place. Whereas RPG Maker is restrictive, Sphere gives you many choices. The downside is that Sphere can be a complex beast.

There are quite a few tutorials on the wiki here: http://wiki.spheredev.org/Category:Tutorials

But in order to make anything decent you need to know how to program. It's how you can basically do anything you want with a computer. Sphere uses JavaScript (not Java). So I would look up Javascript tutorials online, may I recommend DaVince's Tutorial. The problem with the other online tutorials is that they are web-centric, and Sphere is not a web browser, so adapting those tutorials to Sphere can be a bit tricky if they only mention Web related code. DaVince's was made to work for Sphere, so I'd give it a go.

Welcome to the community! And please, ask any questions if you are stuck. Things have been slow around here lately but the regulars will respond if you have anything to say.