Spherical forums

Sphere Development => Engine Development => Topic started by: Eggbertx on February 15, 2015, 08:58:03 pm

Title: JavaSphere Redux
Post by: Eggbertx on February 15, 2015, 08:58:03 pm
So for those of you who remember the original JavaSphere engine attempt, the main reason it failed was because Oracle (for the most part) seems to have driven the concept of Java applets into the ground. Way to go, jerks. That being said, I've been thinking about bringing it back, since Java is very cross platform and runs on almost every OS under the sun, without too many hoops of fire.
I don't know if I still have what little code I had written for it still, but even if I do, I'll probably end up trashing it anyway, since I was a horrible coder, and have at least slightly improved. This  time, I'll focus on having it run directly on the user's computer, making things much easier (think Minecraft)
Another goal for it will be for it to be as compatible as possible with the different versions, from Sphere 1.x to all of the forks and offshoots
Eventually when I figure out how and most of it is stable, I'd like to add Android support as well, since as far as I know, you can write straight Java code for apps.

So what do you guys think? I saw the HTML5 project, but that looks like it's going nowhere fast.
Title: Re: JavaSphere Redux
Post by: Radnen on February 15, 2015, 09:02:54 pm
If you focus on Android, and make a "Sphere-droid" I'm all for it bud.
Post by: Eggbertx on February 15, 2015, 09:42:54 pm
I'll be focusing on desktop mostly at first, since that would be much easier, but when that's all good, I'll focus more on the Android platform.
Post by: Flying Jester on February 15, 2015, 10:19:51 pm
So, this would properly be an entire Sphere engine, written in Java? I support this idea!
Post by: Eggbertx on February 18, 2015, 12:06:23 pm
Does anyone know how Minecraft works without requiring a Java installation on someone's computer?