Skip to main content

News

Topic: Shooting and Collision Detection (Read 11390 times) previous topic - next topic

Shooting and Collision Detection
How can I program a simple shooting system like in Arkista's Ring for the NES

The player presses a button, lets say space-bar and a bullet sprite is spawned in front of the player that moves forward at a fixed speed, it then destroys itself when it hits a wall or any other entity. I know how it would work but I'm not a programmer at least yet.
I would need a bullet sprite that creates itself from the location of the players co-ordinates and then moves in the direction the player is facing until it hits an object. A variable could store the players direction but I'm a bit shaky on how to do all this.
I'm reading the Wiki but I learn best when I just dive right in and use the knowledge I learn practically with some help from experienced programmers like Randnen and allot of you (^_^).

• DaVince
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Administrator
  • Used Sphere for, like, half my life
Re: Shooting and Collision Detection
Reply #1

The player presses a button, lets say space-bar and a bullet sprite is spawned in front of the player that moves forward at a fixed speed, it then destroys itself when it hits a wall or any other entity. I know how it would work but I'm not a programmer at least yet.
I would need a bullet sprite that creates itself from the location of the players co-ordinates and then moves in the direction the player is facing until it hits an object. A variable could store the players direction but I'm a bit shaky on how to do all this.
I'm reading the Wiki but I learn best when I just dive right in and use the knowledge I learn practically with some help from experienced programmers like Randnen and allot of you (^_^).

Well, you basically dissected the problem! That's a programmer's way of thinking. :)