Skip to main content

News

Topic: N00b (Read 5607 times) previous topic - next topic

N00b
Hello! I want to make video games, but I'm not really sure how to! I'll probably figure it out eventually. Maybe... I have absolutely no programming experience whatsoever, but we'll see how it goes.

I want to make an RPG! I have designed tabletop games in the past, I am an okay artist, and a competent musician; but as I have said before, I know nothing at all about programming. It all seems like magic to me. So yeah, there's that.

Re: N00b
Reply #1
P.S.
Sooo...are there like some tutorials I could read or something? :o

• DaVince
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Administrator
  • Used Sphere for, like, half my life
Reply #2
Welcome to Spherical! I'd normally point you to the wiki, which is a great resource to get started... but it's still broken for some reason. (Get on that, N E O! :P)

So uhh. Yeah, that complicates things a bit for the time being. It doesn't help that you don't have any programming experience at all; that would've helped since looking at the docs included with Sphere and the available games would've helped you in that case.

Oh, looks like you can use the Wayback Machine to get an archived copy, though it's not pretty. My own tutorial is pretty extensive and written exactly for beginners, so check it out. :) Getting Started also contains some useful info.

But yeah, welcome! :)

Reply #3
Thank you! One more thing: will I be able to do anything with this on a mac?  ::)

• Radnen
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Senior Staff
  • Wise Warrior
Reply #4
Hey UncertaintyLich! Welcome to the community!

Yes, you can use Sphere on a Mac. The easiest option I guess is to download the windows version and use it along with Wine. Another option is to get one of the several Mac builds of it. If the wiki were up I'd happily point you the way. It depends on what Mac you are running. I'm sure N E O will point you a good link to use.