Spherical forums

Sphere Development => Sphere Support => Script Support => Topic started by: Xenso on July 04, 2013, 03:43:01 pm

Title: Shooting and Collision Detection
Post by: Xenso on July 04, 2013, 03:43:01 pm
How can I program a simple shooting system like in Arkista's Ring for the NES
(http://www.emuparadise.me/Nintendo%20Entertainment%20System/Titles/Arkista's%20Ring%20(U).png)
(http://www.emuparadise.me/Nintendo%20Entertainment%20System/Snaps/Arkista's%20Ring%20(U).png)

The player presses a button, lets say space-bar and a bullet sprite is spawned in front of the player that moves forward at a fixed speed, it then destroys itself when it hits a wall or any other entity. I know how it would work but I'm not a programmer at least yet.
I would need a bullet sprite that creates itself from the location of the players co-ordinates and then moves in the direction the player is facing until it hits an object. A variable could store the players direction but I'm a bit shaky on how to do all this.
I'm reading the Wiki but I learn best when I just dive right in and use the knowledge I learn practically with some help from experienced programmers like Randnen and allot of you (^_^).
Title: Re: Shooting and Collision Detection
Post by: DaVince on July 04, 2013, 04:26:27 pm

The player presses a button, lets say space-bar and a bullet sprite is spawned in front of the player that moves forward at a fixed speed, it then destroys itself when it hits a wall or any other entity. I know how it would work but I'm not a programmer at least yet.
I would need a bullet sprite that creates itself from the location of the players co-ordinates and then moves in the direction the player is facing until it hits an object. A variable could store the players direction but I'm a bit shaky on how to do all this.